skip to content

Laing O'Rourke Centre for Construction Engineering and Technology

Construction Engineering Masters - Teaching

Every year approximately 100 leading government, industry and academic experts from the UK and abroad contribute to the high calibre, cross-disciplinary CEM programme.


Core academic team:

Professor Campbell Middleton 
Interim CEM Course Director

Laing O’Rourke Professor of Construction Engineering
Director, Laing O’Rourke Centre for Construction Engineering & Technology
Fellow, King’s College, Cambridge
Chairman, UK Bridge Owners’ Forum
Fellow, Transport Research Foundation

Dr Mohammed Elshafie Laing O’Rourke Senior Lecturer in Construction Engineering
Deputy Director, Laing O’Rourke Centre for Construction Engineering & Technology
Fellow & Director of Studies in Engineering, Robinson College
Dr Ioannis Brilakis Laing O’Rourke Reader in Construction Engineering
Director, Construction Information Technology Laboratory
Dr Graham McShane Queens' College - Graduate Tutor


Construction Engineering Masters Programme Fellows (experts supporting the CEM core academic team):

Dr Brendan Burchell Reader in the Social Sciences
Director of Graduate Education in Sociology
Director of the Cambridge Undergraduate Quantitative Methods Centre
Department of Sociology, University of Cambridge
Professor Alistair Gibb Professor of Construction Engineering Management 
Loughborough University
Dr Paul Goodrum Nicholas R. Petry Professor in Construction Engineering and Management
Department of Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
University of Colorado Boulder
Professor Peter Guthrie CEM Fellow, University of Cambridge
Dr Paul Heffernan

Laing O’Rourke Centre Principal Research Manager


Dr Julian Huppert Director, Intellectual Forum, Jesus College, University of Cambridge
Dr Benn Lawson
University Senior Lecturer in Operations Management
Director of the Centre for Process Excellence & Innovation (CPEI)
Director of Studies in Management at Gonville & Caius College
Dr Kristen MacAskill

Former Construction Engineering Master's Course Director

Lecturer (assistant professor) at University of Cambridge
Fellow & Director of Studies in Engineering, St Edmund’s College

Professor Eve Mitleton-Kelly Policy Advisor
Professor David Mosey Director, Centre of Construction Law
King’s College London
Professor William J. Nuttall Professor of Energy 
The Open University
Dr Judith Plummer Braeckman Senior Research Associate
Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership, University of Cambridge

Professor Phil Purnell

Director, “Cities” Research Theme
University of Leeds

Professor Rafael Sacks Professor at Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Dr Sam Stanier University Senior Lecturer, University of Cambridge
Catherine Tilley Lecturer in Business Ethics & Sustainability
King’s College London


A selection of regular expert contributors

  • Mike Barlow – Partner, MacRoberts
  • Mark Bew - Chairman, BIM Task Group
  • Dr Azad Camyab CEO, Pearlstone Energy
  • Chris Cavendish – @one Alliance
  • Tim Chapman - Director, Arup
  • Keith Clarke CBE – Former CEO, Atkins
  • Professor Keith Clarke CBE - Former CEO, Atkins
  • Dr Shaun Fitzgerald - RAEng Visiting Professor in Sustainable Buildings
  • Steve Gooding - Director, RAC Foundation, former Director General, Department for Transport
  • Professor Peter Hansford - Former UK Chief Construction Adviser now Professor of Construction and Infrastructure Policy at UCL
  • Professor Lord Robert Mair - University of Cambridge
  • Dr Darryl Murphy - Global Infrastructure, Aviva Investors
  • Liam O’Keefe - MD, Credit Agricole and Calyon
  • Richard Patterson – Procurement and NEC Specialist, Mott MacDonald
  • Dr David Pencheon – Associate, and Honorary Professor, University of Exeter
  • Dr Mark Raiss - Engineering Director, Civil Infrastructure, AECOM
  • Nick Raynsford - Former MP and Honorary Vice-Chairman of the Construction Industry Council
  • Andrew Shepherd – Deputy Group CEO, Mid Group
  • Dr Matthew Tucker – Liverpool Business School


A selection of past expert speakers

  • Dr Bill Baker – University of Cambridge Honorary Professor of Structural Engineering Design & Visiting Research Fellow
  • Tristram Carfrae – Deputy Chairman, Arup
  • Alan Clucas – Director, Explore Manufacturing
  • Steve Gooding - Director, RAC Foundation
  • Kirsten Henson – KHL Sustainability
  • Sir David Higgins - Former Executive Chairman, HS2
  • Prof. Andrew McNaughton – Former Technical Director, HS2
  • Professor John Miles – University of Cambridge; former Group Board Director, Arup
  • Doug Oakervee CBE – Former Chairman, HS2
  • Professor Feniosky Peña-Mora – Edwin Howard Armstrong Professor at Columbia University; former Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Royal Academy of Engineering 
  • Roger Ridsdill Smith – Senior Partner, Foster + Partners
  • Peter Rogers CBE – Partner, Lipton Rogers LLP
  • Howard Shiplee CBE – Former Olympic Construction Director
  • Andrew Wolstenholme OBE Group MD, Maritime and Land UK, BAE Systems; former CEO, Crossrail

MSt in Construction Engineering

The CEM 2022 Prospectus will be available online from October 2021




Jan Wojtecki
Centre Manager and Interim CEM Course Manager


Connect with CEM