skip to primary navigationskip to content

Management Board

The work of the Laing O'Rourke Centre for Construction Engineering and Technology is overseen by a Construction Engineering and Technology Management Board.  The Board meet at least three times a year and are responsible for providing academic and professional oversight of the activities both of the centre itself, and of the Construction Engineering Masters programme.

Board Membership

The Board consists of:

  • The head of Civil Engineering at the Department of Engineering
  • The Laing O'Rourke Professor of Construction Engineering
  • One representative from the Judge Business School
  • Two representatives of Laing O'Rourke
  • Any other individuals as decided by the Board

At any given time the majority of Board members will be members of the University

University of Cambridge Board members

Prof. Robert Mair (Chairman)

Robert Mair was appointed Professor of Geotechnical Engineering at the University of Cambridge in 1998.  He is Head of Civil and Environmental Engineering and was elected Master of Jesus College in 2001.  He was a fellow of St John's College from 1998 - 2001.  He is also one of the founding Directors of the Geotechnical Consulting Group (GCG), an international consulting company based in London, started in 1983.

Prof. Campbell Middleton (Centre Director)

Campbell Middleton is the Laing O'Rourke Professor of Construction Engineering and Director of the Laing O'Rourke Centre for Construction Engineering and Technology.  He is also a Fellow of King's College.  His main research interests are in bridge engineering, in particular the ultimate strength of concrete structures, yield-line analysis, risk and safety, wireless sensor networks and NDT applied to bridges, computer vision applications in civil engineering and the management of bridges.

Prof. Stefan Scholtes

Stefan Scholtes is the Dennis Gillings Professor of Health Management at the Judge Business School, where he is also the Academic Director of the Centre for Health Leadership & Enterprise.


Laing O'Rourke Board members

Paul Westbury

Group Technical Director

John O’Connor

Group Human Capital Director

Applications for Construction Engineering Masters (CEM) 2019 are now open.

The deadline to apply online is
30 April 2019



2019 - 2021 Prospectus: